The Daily Blog experiment – The Bucket List

Bucket lists have become pretty popular, but if you don’t know the term, it’s a list of stuff you want to do before you kick the bucket. These lists sometimes become ‘shit I need to do this summer’, and it’s a task list.

No. I don’t want a To Do list. I have one as long as a piece of string tied to another piece of string.

I’m talking about: let me consider all aspects of my life and see what I fancy doing that I haven’t yet done.

I’ve pulled a few images from a quick google search.

Well, let’s see. I’ve visited Stonehenge, gone on a cruise, visited all 7 continents, studied and got my Bachelor of Arts, fell in love, learned a new style of dance, learned to ride a bike, did yoga, attended a school reunion, etc etc etc.

It’s definitely time for a new bucket list, one that is meaningful, delightful, and exciting to me. I have to bear in mind that I’m 60, not 20, so some of the more daring things no longer appeal.

To that end, I’ll shortly be getting together with a girlfriend: craft paper and textas(markers) at the ready, so we can begin brainstorming our new bucket lists. An afternoon in a cafe, preferably with access to books for inspiration, and a wifi connection in case we need google help. Tea, more tea, and cake at the ready.

What do a couple of 60+ women want to get up to? We have no more fucks to give, so just about anything non-hip-breaking goes.

Leave a comment