The Daily Blog experiment – belly dance teaching

Facts:

I started learning to belly dance in 1989, the year I was pregnant, and birthed, ThirtiesGirl

I have been a student of belly dance ever since, with sometimes big gaps where I did stuff like raise children, work, write, etc

I was a professional for a while, but never loved it like I should have

I taught belly dance for a number of years, mostly at neighbourhood and community houses

I retired from it all around 2011

I still float around the edges, occasionally dancing at a hafla or fundraiser

I was, and still am, a darned good teacher.

With that info out of the way, I can tell you that I have a new support worker. E The Blonde comes on Tuesday mornings to help me database a rather large back catalogue of my writing. She makes sure I stay on track, take regular breaks for a wee dance, and generally keeps me going with what is rather boring work.

E The Blonde has noticed the large gap between her dancing and mine. Thus, I am teaching her a few belly dance techniques. She says I explain it well, am a kind teacher, and that I should still be teaching.

Very flattering stuff. I ponce about once she’s left. “Yeah baby, I still got it.”

In recent years, I’ve been talked into doing a few belly dance taster workshops at local libraries, as part of their ‘try something different’ programmes. I take along the business cards of all the belly dance teachers I know in the eastern sutures.

Many of the students get excited and want to learn. I make it easy. I make it fun. I make them see their bodies a kind light.

They want to keep learning with me. I have to give them the bad news: sorry wimmin, I no longer teach regular classes.

They pout. They want me – sweet, funny, older me who has a round tummy, saggy boobs, glasses, and a wry attitude to aging.

Yes, I could kick it all off again. I could still teach a class or two, but there’s no way.

I burned out on teaching week after week.

Teaching belly dance isn’t like teaching yoga, where you make a lesson plan, and show up with a mat, and a phone full of Deva Premal albums.

Teaching belly dance means a speaker, a phone full of music, a lesson plan, a new choreography each term, and enough of each prop of the month for each student(veil, finger cymbals, veil fans, folkloric sticks).

Yoga students don’t want a performance opportunity. Yoga students don’t often want notification that a master teacher is in town. They don’t want to go see concerts and haflas.

So it’s very kind that people still want me to teach. But no thanks. I’m in a different phase of life now. Writer.

Writer who takes dance breaks.

2019 publicity photo

Leave a comment