The Daily Blog experiment – TikTok

LadyDraven popped over this afternoon to film me brainstorming ideas for a new poem. All in the cause of @helenreadsherpoems. That’s my TikTok handle where I’m found reading out one of my own poems every week.

Now, this all started as a ‘why not?’ idea put forward by my astrologer Stella Starwoman. Next minute, I have a stand and a ring light, and I’m filming myself reading out poems.

And then “hey, we could film me making a mind map to brainstorm a new poem”.

Hence LadyDraven, her phone camera, and me placing my chicken scrawl writing on a sheet of paper.

Something did come of that mapping, and I have an inkling of a new poem, the third in the same Red Riding Hood theme.

And I did ‘create a vibe’ by sticking on some bracelets and rings.

Still, it all feels odd, as though I’m kind of sitting in the middle of a shopping centre in my underwear, loudly clearing my throat and saying “Look at me.”

Ultimately, getting views on TikTok might lead to something, or it might not, and I can’t get hung up on it either way. It’s an experiment, like this daily blog.

Ah, gone are the days of interaction, where people left comments. Now it’s all passive viewing/reading, and moving on to the next thing. I’m as guilty of this as the next person.

But if everyone is in a circus ring, performing their tricks, who’s left to be an appreciator?

Sorry about the irrelevant pic. I clicked the wrong thing and now it won’t leave. This is why LadyDraven manages my social media stuff. I’m a tech twit.

Leave a comment